www.combatsi.com | www.cryingrose.com

Forums
Combat: Samurai Island Website :: Forums :: Support :: Suggestions

<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Skill Ranking Suggestion
Go to page   <<        >>  
Moderators: Archanox, Ayame Musashi, Esprite Xavier, fhisch, RobbyRacoon Olmstead, KatanaBlade Anubis, Haruko Fukai
Author Post
Atrus Westland
Sat May 03 2008, 01:35AM

Registered Member #633
I would still honestly like to see some more details on Malachi's ideas. I know Esprite already said they're working on some thing but honestly who know what thats going to come up. Just for brainstorming purposes at least I would really love to see some visual representation of Mal's ideas
Malachi Rothschild
Sat May 03 2008, 10:52AM
Registered Member #104
I'm not really good at making visuals but if you'd like to put something together I can talk you through any questions you have.

A good katana fight is like a good conversation.

It's deeply engaging, reciprocal
and it flows smoothly.

Atrus Westland
Sat May 03 2008, 12:08PM

Registered Member #633
Might not be such a bad idea. I think having some visual representations of things would be useful.
EA Poe
Sun May 04 2008, 06:49PM
Registered Member #1516
Some quick thoughts on Ranks, Balance, handicapping, tourneys, etc.

If you do a ranking system, it should, preferably, NOT, I repeat, NOT be a ladder. I'm not fond of the grind of 'leveling'.

Go, (igo, wei-qi, baduk) is an ancient asian game, which, like martial arts, has a rank. Each rank determines how strong you are, in relation to those you play. That is, if I lose half the time against someone, I'm the same rank as them. If I win 75% of the time, I may be a 'stone' (one rank) stronger. In japan, these ranks range from kyu (beginner) to dan (student) levels. Of course, only professional players could really be 'masters' of go.